Table of Contents
What is statutory rape?
Statutory rape alludes to sexual relations with someone below the age of consent. Underage people can’t lawfully agree to have intercourse, so any sexual interaction with them disregards the law. That is true even in circumstances where they signal their arrangement.
While the crime is prevalently called statutory rape, numerous states don’t utilize that term formally and refer to it as sexual assault, corruption of a minor, or carnal knowledge of a child. Most laws on this subject are state rather than federal ones.
Statutory rape vs rape
Usually, individuals think about “rape” as a forcible sexual encounter. Nonetheless, with statutory rape, no force is needed to be infringing upon the law. The crime usually includes an underage member who willingly participates in sexual relations. However, because the individual is too young to consent to sex, it’s a crime whether force is involved or not. On the off chance that the demonstration includes force or pressure, numerous states arraign the guilty party on charges, for example, child molestation or aggravated rape.
The age at which an individual can legitimately agree to have intercourse shifts from state to state. In many places, it is 16 years of age, while some set it at 17 or 18. According to the law, individuals beneath this age are too naive to even think about making a choice that could have results, for example, a pregnancy. Society ensures them by making it a criminal offense to have intercourse with them. Note that the “age of consent” is different from the legal idea of “age of majority,” which refers to turning into a grown-up for general purposes, for example, being eligible to enter into contracts.
Previously, statutory rape was a “strict liability” offense, implying that it didn’t make a difference whether the actor realized that the other individual was too young to consider consenting to sex. A few states presently grant a defense of honest mistake. Essentially, the actor contends, “I sincerely thought she was mature enough because….” However, other states don’t recognize this defense.
Factors affecting statutory rape sentence
The standard punishment for statutory rape is detainment, in some cases, along with a heavy fine and an order to enroll as a sex offender. Various factors influence the seriousness of the sentence in a specific case. One is the age of the victim: the younger, the more serious the crime. Different components that can affect a sentence include:
- the age contrast between the two individuals;
- regardless of whether the actor and victim are individuals from a similar family unit;
- regardless of whether the actor is an instructor or other worker at the victim’s school; and
- the actor’s previous sex offenses, assuming any.
Close-in-age statutory rape laws
To address potential statutory rape circumstances where two individuals are close-in-age various states have sanctioned what is here and there called “Romeo and Juliet laws.” These laws cut out an alternate set of rules where the guilty party is just marginally older than the minor.
For instance, in New Jersey, having intercourse with an underage individual is rape only if the actor is at least four years older. Subsequently, a 22-year-old who engages in sexual relations with a 15-year-old commits a legal offense, yet an 18-year-old who does likewise does nothing unlawful. In a few states, for example, Georgia, closeness in age is certifiably not total protection, instead brings down the offense level to a misdemeanor.
States force an obligation on specific classes of professionals to report any suspicion of child abuse, which can incorporate statutory rape. For the most part, the sorts of professionals assigned as mandatory reporters are those with access to children (such as teachers or medical professionals) or in administration positions (for example, public employees and clergy). Mandatory reporting requirements are declared in state laws, so the individuals assigned as mandatory reporters, and the conditions where they must report speculated child abuse, will differ from state to state.
Statutory rape laws
From state to state, statutory rape violations can go from misdemeanors to serious legal offenses, contingent regularly upon the age of the victim and the age difference between the guilty party and victim. In a few states, all statutory rape crimes are serious crimes. In different states, the crime of statutory rape may be a misdemeanor if the victim is near the time of consent, yet a first-degree legal offense if the victim is younger than twelve or fourteen years of age. Different factors likewise can influence the degree of the criminal allegation, for example, regardless of whether a pregnancy came about, the contribution of medications or alcohol in the sexual activity, and whether the litigant has a background marked by earlier sexual offenses.
Statutory rape laws are designated to shield children and adolescents from dangerous grown-ups. The crime of statutory rape has been disputable because it has been applied basically or only to relations where the female is under-age. Besides, statutory rape laws don’t consider sexual relations between young people who are close in an age where one (or both) people are under the period of consent.
For instance, if the age of consent in a state is 17, a kid who is 17 or 18 can be accused of statutory rape for having sexual contact or intercourse with his long term former girlfriend. On the off chance that the age of consent in a state is 16 and a kid turns 16 on March 1 and, his girlfriend turns 16 on March 10, the kid can be accused of statutory rape if he and his better half start having intercourse between March 1 and March 9, since the young lady isn’t yet 16. Likewise, two children under the age of consent are accused of statutory rape for having intercourse with each other if state law has no exemptions for sex or sexual contact between two children.
Numerous states have authorized special cases to statutory rape to address connections between teens close in age and between children who both are under the time of consent.
Romeo and Juliet’s laws give exemptions or offer defense to statutory rape. Such laws may restrict sexual contact or intercourse with an individual under a particular age just by a person:
- of a specific age (for example, 18) or older, or
- a specific number of years older than the supposed victim
Under these statutory rape laws, the young age of the litigant or the little age contrast between the guilty and the victim can be completed protection to a charge of statutory rape. In a few states, nonetheless, these realities may only be “moderating” factors that bring down the degree of the offense from maybe a crime to a misdemeanor or potentially diminish the potential punishments if the litigant is arrested.
A couple of states have “Romeo and Juliet” laws that explicitly limit the case to circumstances where the two individuals involved in sexual activity are of the opposite gender. Under those laws, if the respondent and victim are of similar sex, the Romeo and Juliet exemption gives no defense to the statutory rape charge.
Protections accessible to an individual accused of a statutory rape crime rely on the laws of the state wherein the litigant is charged.
Even though the victim’s consent itself isn’t protection to statutory rape, it might be if the state where the litigant is charged has a Romeo and Juliet case or relief. The victim’s consent is a fundamental component that a litigant must show to exploit the Romeo and Juliet laws.
In states without Romeo and Juliet laws, the victim’s consent to statutory rape is no defense because the purpose of statutory rape is that an individual under a particular age can’t give legal consent to sexual activity.